Glowing reviews of Sunday’s season opener

Reviews are starting to appear online for the Brighton Phil’s concert on Sunday afternoon:

Writing for reviewer Phil Dennett writes: “Shostakovich’s Festive Overture was bold as brass, full of energy and was zipped along by conductor Barry Wordsworth, while the choir showed great attack and confidence as well as poise in the crowd-pleasing Zadok The Priest by Handel.”

Read his review in full at:

Writing for The Latest Andrew Connal praised “the BFC’s focussed discipline and musical virtuosity, like the orchestra, responsive to every subtle gesture from the maestro.”

Read his review in full at:


Reviewing for the Brighton & Hove Independent Chris Francis was particularly impressed by Elgar’s Scenes from the Bavarian Highlands which he described as “an absolute delight”.

Read his review in full at:


Dr Brian Hick of Lark Reviews described the concert as a “joyfully indulgent afternoon” and of the Bavarian Highlands he asks “Is there anything else in Elgar which is quite as joyous”?

Read his review in full at:


Janet Lawrence writing for The Argus said: “Conductor Laureate Barry Wordsworth was as usual elegant, upright and totally unequivocal in what he wanted the orchestra to do, whether to bring in sections, quieten the tone or highlight a soloist. He won’t be conducting all the concerts but it’s plain he loves the Brighton Phil and we are lucky to have him. First violin John Bradbury has also been with the Phil for decades and leads a good orchestra.”

Read her review in full at:

Janet also reviewed the concert on her Coastway Classics radio show for Coastway Hospital Radio – you can listen to her review (which lasts just over 15 minutes) here (via Dropbox):

Brighton Dome handed out some fascinating historical information about Parry’s From Death to Life to audience members on Sunday – if you didn’t get a copy you can read it here – the piece was commissioned by the Brighton Music Festival in 1914 and premiered at the Dome that same year:

Previous PostNext Post

Copyright ©2012-2018 Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra.