Loading Events

« All Events

Brighton Philharmonic Brass

9 February, 2020 @ 2:45 pm - 4:45 pm UTC+0

Sunday 9 February 2020 / 2.45pm

Brighton Philharmonic Brass

Tylman Susato                   Five Renaissance Dances (from The Danserye) Arr. John Iveson

Giovanni Gabrieli              Three Sonatas

Jan Koetsier                        Symphony for Brass Op.80

William Byrd                      Earl of Oxford March

Henry Purcell                     Trumpet Tune and Air

Chris Hazell                        Four Brass Cats – Kraken, Black Sam, Borage, Mr Jums

Ray Premru                        Divertimento for Ten Brass (5 movements)


Our first concert of the New Year showcases the Brighton Philharmonic Brass, which is rarely given top billing in one of the orchestra’s Brighton Dome concerts.

In the full symphony orchestra the brass section always sit at the back of the stage, adding theatre and excitement to that rich symphonic sound we all love. In this afternoon’s line-up we place a French horn, four trumpets, three tenor trombones, a bass trombone and a tuba firmly in the spotlight and centre stage for once. This select group present a delightful programme of entertaining music through the ages, spanning nearly five hundred years.

We start with two highly significant Renaissance composers, the Flemish Tylman Susato and his brilliant dances of 1551, arranged by the trombonist John Iveson, and then three sonatas for brass choirs by the Italian composer Giovanni Gabrieli, one of the most influential musicians of his time.

The popular Symphony for Brass by the Dutch composer Jan Koetsier was written in 1979 and has become a staple of the brass ensemble repertoire.

We visit the Baroque period with music from English composers William Byrd and Henry Purcell, whose Trumpet Tune and Air is a wedding staple, and then fast forward to the 20th century when the English composer and arranger Chris Hazell wrote his jazzy, light-hearted Brass Cats suite loosely based on the cats (all former strays) who shared his home at the time.

We close with five movements of the entertaining Divertimento written in 1976 by American composer Ray Premru, Principal Bass Trombone at the Philharmonia Orchestra for 30 years.

Tickets available from Brighton Dome Ticket Office ranging from £14.50-£42.50 (50% student/U18 discount) (01273) 709709 or online: https://tickets.brightondome.org/online/seatSelect.asp?BOset::WSmap::seatmap::performance_ids=15A08333-3CDF-42D3-A363-11FBDC49A07F


9 February, 2020
2:45 pm - 4:45 pm
Event Category:


Catherine Stead
01273 622900


Brighton Dome
Church Street
Brighton , BN1 1UE United Kingdom
+ Google Map
01273 709709